Subscribe to Updates
Get the latest creative news from FooBar about art, design and business.
- Cristiano Ronaldo skips India trip as Al-Nassr head to face FC Goa | Football News
- Shawn Michaels’ Former Partner Reveals Real Reason Behind WWE Hall Of Fame Snub
- Former WWE wrestler Sir Mo passes away at 58 years old
- Premier League: 10 talking points from the weekendâ€s action | Premier League
- ‘Perth will decide Ashes’: Australian cricket legend predicts 3-1 loss for England | Cricket News
- Ohtaniâ€s greatest game ever sends Dodgers back to the World Series + Blue Jays-Mariners ALCS comes down to Game 7
- Dragunov’s return and surprise win, Jacob Fatu angle, Cody-Drew brawl, Bliss & Charlotte vs. Zaria & Sol Ruca, more
- Mariners ready for decisive ALCS Game 7 vs. Blue Jays
Browsing: hit
Sep 12, 2025, 12:00 PM ETThe Big Dumper just left the yard again!In what has become a regular occurrence during…
The Rules of Golf are tricky! Thankfully, we’ve got the guru. Our Rules Guy knows the book front to back. Got a question? He’s got all the answers.
With “preferred lies” in effect under wet weather rules, a player marked his ball, moved it a club-length and played his shot without removing the marker. Penalty? —Mustapha Hassan, Abuja, Nigeria
Thought-provoking question, Mustapha, and Rules Guy is humbled by his column’s global reach.
After some deep thought, we have landed at no penalty. Under Model Local Rule E-3, preferred lies does not require marking, as this ball is not being replaced, so the penalty for failing to remove the ball marker doesn’t apply to one that was not used to mark the spot of a ball to be lifted and replaced.
For more preferred lies guidance from our guru, read on …
Rules Guy: When playing lift, clean and place, are you allowed to give yourself a better angle to the hole?
By:
Rules Guy
We were playing with the “lift, clean and place” local rule in effect. A player in my foursome was in the fairway and started to roll the ball with his clubhead before realizing that it’s lift, not roll. He proceeded to mark his ball and go through the procedure correctly. But had the player committed a violation by first touching the ball with his club? —Dudley Campbell, Scottsdale, Ariz.
There may be no erasers on golf pencils, but there’s a very handy one in the Rules of Golf. Dudley, say hello to Rule 14.5, aka the “Eraser” rule. (No, Rules Guy didn’t make up that nickname; it’s a real thing.)
This rule allows for correcting without penalty a mistake in dropping, placing, replacing or substituting a ball, as long as it’s done prior to the player making the next stroke. So, while it is in fact required to use your hand when placing a ball, in this instance, since the mistake was corrected, it falls under “no harm, no foul.”
Had it not been corrected, the sanction would have been one penalty stroke for replacing in a wrong way.
Want to find the right gear for your bag in 2025?Find a club-fitting location near you at True Spec Golf.
Got a question about the Rules? Ask the Rules Guy! Send your queries, confusions and comments to rulesguy@golf.com. We promise he won’t throw the book at you.
All the goals from the Championship, League 1 and League 2 in Scotland.
Creating perfect contact depends a lot on how you set your spine at address. It sounds simple, but it makes…
The long-awaited Canelo Álvarez-Terence Crawford fight is already a win in one way for Álvarez. Canelo told TMZ Sports that his…
SPOTLIGHTED PODCAST ALERT (YOUR ARTICLE BEGINS A FEW INCHES DOWN)… We are just 10 days away from…
SPOTLIGHTED PODCAST ALERT (YOUR ARTICLE BEGINS A FEW INCHES DOWN)… SHOW SUMMARY: In this episode of “Collision Cafe,”…
ARLINGTON, Texas — Framber Valdez has denied intentionally hitting his catcher in the chest with a pitch almost immediately after…
The mere speculation that Houston Astros left-hander Framber Valdez would intentionally hit his own catcher in the chest with a…
One of the main causes of slicing is unduly opening the clubface as you swing the club to the top.…